Dreaming about drinking?

25 Apr

Does anyone else dream about drinking?

I have been sober for almost 3 months now (minus a one-week trial of moderate drinking) and yet I have been having reoccurring dreams about drinking. In real life, I don’t have any great urge to drink. There are bottles of wine and beer in the fridge and I haven’t been (seriously) tempted. But in my dreams, I get drunk and then I feel horribly guilty or I have one of two and then worry that I will slip and start drinking more. That guilty feeling will sometimes stay with me for a few hours after waking.

On a happy note, I am down 7 pounds in 7 weeks thanks to weight watchers. I am sure not drinking has also played a part. One fake beer=1 point. 1 real beer = 4 points.

7 Responses to “Dreaming about drinking?”

  1. somuchfattitude April 25, 2013 at 4:43 pm #

    1 MGD62 = 2pts; 1 Miller Lite = 3pts

    and yes. LOL – i have these dreams. 😦 Mostly about bourbon… occasionally about beer.

  2. Lisa Neumann April 26, 2013 at 3:09 pm #

    I like to believe the dreams are healthy. I see it as my subconscious releasing the laden patterns that kept me drinking. i see it as a sign that I’m facing my recovery head on. Congrats on your 3 months. This is a huge milestone. ps gotta love that weight loss too

  3. Emma Polette April 27, 2013 at 9:35 am #

    I had that dream last night! I have been sober for almost 3 months and in 2 weeks time I am going to try moderate drinking… It freaked me out – I wonder if it was my subconscious telling me that I won’t be able to do it… I felt so guilty and crappy when I woke up – kind of like how I used to after a big night of drinking.

    • Semi-sober momma April 29, 2013 at 10:11 pm #

      I plan to try very moderate drinking in awhile as well. Let me know how it goes. I really wonder if it’s possible.

  4. carrythemessage April 30, 2013 at 4:57 am #

    Drinking dreams are very common. We all get them, regardless of how much time we have sober. They are frightening when you have them, when you wake up and for that split second wonder if it really happened. I get waves of guilt and shame and remorse and then a HUGE sigh of relief when I realize it wasn’t real. Yay! It’s like having a recurring relapse, but without the consequences 🙂

    But like Lisa said so well, it’s a sign that we’re facing things head on.

  5. Sarah May 4, 2013 at 8:44 pm #

    Thankfully since I stopped drinking 90 days ago, I haven’t had a single complete urge to drink, nor have I had a dream (nightmare, really) about going back to the life I was living. Thankfully. I’m grateful for that each and everyday. I think it’s a pretty regular thing, though, from everything I’ve heard at my treatment meetings and in AA.

  6. backonmyown May 28, 2013 at 2:42 pm #

    Hi SSM. Thanks for subscribing to my blog. I come from a long line of alcoholics. Fortunately, I am not one but I have spent a great deal of time in AlAnon learning how to live my life which was so negatively impacted by my dad’s and my brother’s drinking. For what it’s worth, my dad the binge drinker would start every binge with “I’ll just have a couple of beers.”

    Congratulations on three months of sobriety. Keep it going. One day at a time. I will be following your progress via your blog. Good luck.

Leave a comment